top of page

KLPGA- 2015 JEJU SAMDASOO MASTERS


In July 2015, I had an opportunity to work at the KLPGA Tour Jeju Samdasoo Masters. This Tour was organized from IB Worldwide Inc. During three days of tour, Marketing Department Director ordered me to do something I never expected. In this Tour, I was supposed to support three golfers from IB Worldwide Inc. But I was told to organize the landscape of 18-hole course and event booth when the game was over around 4 o’clock in the afternoon. When the game of first day ended, I was already exhausted by running between the club house and the course. I had more than fifteen phone conversations with my director and my phone’s step-counter exceeded 18,000. Still, as my Director told me to, I had to go back to the course to reorganize the mess that gallery of thousands left behind.

As I recognized this inefficiency of system, I went to talk with my department director. Due to strict hierarchy in Korean society, staff members were surprised at me stepping up to recommend something different from company’s decision. I presented my simple plan to the director: Give out plastic bags to each gallery at the course entrance and give souvenirs to those who brought bags with trash back to a staff standing at each holes. This KLPGA Tour was originally planned to provide small accessory souvenirs at the entrance. My plan did not require extra expenditure because the gifts were already prepared. The Director accepted my plan and decided to support our staff members. Because this was a sudden change, my director had to be confirmed by the Association President. By the end of the dinner, director got a phone call from KLPGA regarding its approval to our marketing change.

To look visually eco-friendly, green plastic bags were given to gallery at the entrance on the second day of the tour. When four hours passed after first tee-off, countless people, regardless of age, came with filled bags and received a white ticket to get souvenirs at the event booth.

Also, this Tour had a typical lottery event for three special prizes: Kia Morning, a television, and a desktop computer. For the special prizes that were supposed to be selected by lottery, Marketing Team also changed the plan to what I proposed. We made three golden treasure cards and placed it near the golf cart pathway. We gave special prizes to three people who found these hidden cards.

When the second day of Tour ended, all of our staff members were happy to look at our accomplishment. Although staff members had to work until late at night preparing plastic bags and cards, we were proud to see the result. It was worthwhile that we provided small pleasure to gallery and brought efficiency to our laborious work. As I encountered the flaw in an inefficient system, I was able to think differently in solving one problem. Although many doubted my proposal of changing plan, my director greatly assisted in initiating the event. Our staff members also gladly supported to propel this event further. Three days of KLPGA Tour taught me how impactful my small ideas were and how these creative thoughts brought not only efficiency, but also social and economic value.


 UPCOMING EVENTS: 

 

10/31/23:  Scandinavian Art Show

 

11/6/23:  Video Art Around The World

 

11/29/23:  Lecture: History of Art

 

12/1/23:  Installations 2023 Indie Film Festival

 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page